## UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Farm Service Agency Texas State FSA Office 2405 Texas Avenue South College Station, TX 77840 **TX NOTICE FLP-1309** 

3-FLP (Rev. 2)

## FOR: County Offices

# **Secretarial Disaster Declaration S4932**

Approved by: Acting State Executive Director

### 1 Overview

## A Background

On March 26, 2021, the Secretary of Agriculture designated 10 Texas counties as a primary natural disaster areas. This action is based on damages and losses caused by Drought (Fast Track) occurring February 2, 2021 and continuing. The primary counties are:

Bee	Brazoria	Cottle	DeWitt	Karnes	King	Kleberg
Live Oak	Matagorda	Victoria				

In addition to the above **counties, 29 other Texas counties** are named as **contiguous** where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA EM loan assistance, pursuant to section 321 (a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act. Those counties are:

Atascosa	Brooks	Calhoun	Childress	Dickens	Duval	Foard
Fort Bend	Galveston	Goliad	Gonzales	Hall	Hardeman	Harris
Haskell	Jackson	Jim Wells	Kenedy	Kent	Knox	Lavaca
McMullen	Motley	Nueces	Refugio	San Patricio	Stonewall	Wharton
Wilson	•		0			

This designation makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Disposal Date	Distribution (6-RMH/3/31/202	1)
March 31, 2022	County Office	es
3/31/2021	6-RMH	Page 1

## TX Notice FLP-1309

## **B** Application Deadline

EM Loan applications will be received through November 26, 2021 for production and physical losses.

## 2 Action

## **A** Exceptions for Application Deadlines

County Offices shall thoroughly review Exhibit 1.

## **B** Determining Security Values

For the purpose of determining loan security values for loan applications, the beginning date of the incidence period is **February 2, 2021.** 

## C District Director's and Farm Loan Manager's Responsibilities

District Directors and Farm Loan Managers shall follow instructions according to 3-FLP (Rev. 2), and FmHA Instruction 1945-A for emergency loan applicability.

The Farm Loan Manager shall notify borrowers of Disaster Set-Aside (DSA) availability in accordance with handbook 5-FLP paragraph 42.

### **D** Public Announcements

Special emphasis will be placed on informing the farm community through public announcements and arranging and conducting meetings with local Agricultural lenders and leaders.

### 3 Contact Point

### A Inquires

If there are questions concerning this notice, contact the Conservation or Farm Loan Program Division.

## Subject: Secretarial Disaster Declaration S4932

Please carefully review the notice listing the primary and contiguous counties determined eligible by the Secretary and the Emergency Preparedness and Programs Branch for emergency (EM) loans effective **March 26, 2021.** 

This declaration is coded **S4932**, and EM loan applications will be received through **November 26**, **2021.** For the purpose of determining loan security values for loan applications, the beginning date of the incidence period is **February 2**, **2021**.

Please proceed to take the appropriate notification and coordination actions required by Handbook 1-DIS and 7CFR part 759.